Retrospective

We Remember: Benjamin G. Lamme

The Exchange is published annually by the OSU Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering.

January 12, 1864 - July 8, 1924

Benjamin Lamme, born and raised near Springfield, Ohio, was the son of James Given Lamme and Sarah Garver Lamme. He graduated from The Ohio State University in 1888 with the degree of mechanical engineer. He entered the Westinghouse Electric and Manufacturing Company in 1889, and became assistant chief engineer in 1900, and chief engineer in 1903. He served at Westinghouse at a time when it was known as a hothouse of inventors. He led a team of engineers that revolutionized engineering at the beginning of the 20th century. Lamme achieved international acclaim as a pioneering inventor and engineer for the Westinghouse Electric and Manufacturing Company at Pittsburgh. For 21 years he served as chief engineer for Westinghouse. Among his 162 patents were new inventions on railway motors, induction motors, converters, and the developments pertaining to the first Niagara Falls power system. In addition to his work as an engineer at Westinghouse, he served on the Naval Consulting Board of the United States, 1915-1919.



The Thomas A. Edison medal was awarded to Lamme by the American Institute of Electrical Engineering, (presently the Institute of Electric and Electronic Engineering). He received the award on May 16, 1919, in the auditorium of the Engineering Societies Building, New York City. The basis of the award was "for invention and development of electrical machinery."

The Joseph Sullivant gold medal was awarded to Lamme in 1923 by The Ohio State University. The Joseph Sullivant gold medal is awarded at fiveyear intervals to the alumnus who had made the most notable contribution to the liberal arts, the fine arts, or the mechanic arts. He died July 8, 1924 in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania.

Previous Medal Recipients

Alumni with degrees in ME, EM, or AAE who have received the Lamme medal include:

Year	Recipient	Degree/Graduation Year
2014	Bob Lee	ME 1978
2011	Monte Ahuja	ME 1970
2006	William Fillmore	ME 1936
2004	Robert Nerem	AAE 1961, 1964
2001	Daniel Kimmet	MET 1971 and ME 1972
1998	Ralph Rockow	ME 1958
1994	Jason Lemon	ME 1962
1989	Gary Kimmet	ME 1966, 1969
1976	Rupert Atkin	ME 1941
1974	John B. White	ME 1952
1969	Robert T. Sawyer	EE 1923 and ME 1930
1965	Hayward A. Gay	ME 1930
1964	William Heimberger	EM 1916
1963	William Chambers	ME 1904
1960	Alan G. Loofbourrow	ME 1934
1958	Harley C. Lee	EM 1927
1955	Ralph M. Hardgrove	ME 1914
1951	Ralph L. Boyer	ME 1924
1948	Earle C. Smith	EM 1913
1947	Estel C. Raney	ME-EE 1912
1943	Thomas E. French	ME 1895
1942	Herbert B. Brooks	ME-EE 1903
1940	Lawrence G. Barringer	EM-CER 1902
1937	Ellis Lovejoy	EM 1885
1936	Ervin Bailey	ME 1903
1934	Lewis W. Chubb	ME-EE 1905
1933	Norman Storer	ME-EE 1891
1932	Ralph D. Mershon	ME 1890
1931	Charles E. Skinner	ME 1890

Ohio State College of Engineering's Annual Presentation of Meritorious Achievement Medal Named for Lamme

In his will, Benjamin Lamme provided that a gold medal be presented annually to a technical graduate of his alma mater for "meritorious achievement in advancing engineering." Each year, the College of Engineering presents the Benjamin G. Lamme Meritorious Achievement Medal to an alumnus who is selected from a pool of nominees for the distinguished honor. The 2014 recipient will be ME alum Bob Lee, who is also a previous recipient of the college's Distinguished Alumnus Award (see related article p. 16).

