OLIVE BRANCH SCHOOL PRESERVATION SOCIETY

Minutes of the Meeting October 1, 2009

After touring the Olive Branch School, Mr. Berry called the meeting to order at 7:35 PM. He announced that the School had been approved for placement on the National Register, and now it was time to initiate phase II. He noted that the greatest challenge would be fundraising.

A typographical error in the minutes of the previous meeting was corrected. It should read Wenrick Construction instead of Warrick. Jane Manemann moved that the corrected minutes be approved. The motion carried.

The official letter informing the Society that the School had been placed on the National Register was received about the second week of September. The dedication could not have been held earlier, therefore.

It was noted that Pam Mustovich is the OBSPS Treasurer, and is bonded.

Board member Virginia Cox resigned owing to time limits. Cyndie Gerken made a motion, seconded by Jim Leathley to accept the resignation. The motion carried. It was moved and seconded to add Jane Manemann to the Board of Trustees of the Society. The motion carried.

Mr. Sipe noted that Virginia Cox had done an outstanding job for the Society: setting up the website, designing the logo, serving as secretary, and researching the bylaws. Mr. Berry stated that a letter of thanks will be sent.

Mr. Berry clarified Article II concerning active and honorary members. He noted that the general membership is open to anyone who desires to be involved. The \$10 fee is for operating expenses. The Society is responsible for the fundraising. The Board of Education owns the building, and the Society is responsible to the Board. The Board must approve any actions of the Society It is uncertain if the Board could issue funds for the project..

In answer to a question, Cyndie Gerken pointed out that there was currently no vehicle for collecting dues, and everyone was welcome at the meeting.

Jane Manemann announced that the Board of Education has plans to set funds aside for the next five years out of the permanent improvements account. There are , however three important levies coming up.

In answer to a question, it was decided that Society members should support the levies as individuals, but not as an organization. This is so that the public is not confused that the levy is for the subject project, and contributions will not be necessary.

John Sipe asked if the building is fully insured.

Members of the finance committee are: Mr. & Mrs. Jim Leathley, John Detrick, Mr. & Mrs. Robert Suver, Bill Scarff, and Carl Gilbert. Mr. Berry stated that he wants the finance committee to form a plan to approach foundations and organizations.

Virgil Studebaker announced that distinguished alumnus Tom Crouch supports the Society, and will allow his name to be used.

It was announced that Cyndie Gerken chairs the publicity committee.

Matt Curtis stated that it would take six weeks to obtain the dedication plaque. The plaque will be installed after the renovation. A certificate suitable for framing will be displayed.

Jane Manemann asked if there were any historical events of the school with which to coordinate the dedication. Mr. Berry responded that the building burned on November 10, 1913, and reopened in January 1915. The first graduating class held exercises in the spring of 1915.

It was decided that 2010 was a nice even number, and the dedication would be January 17. Jim Leathley noted that it could be considered a time of rebirth. Ken Strickland offered to invite Governor Ted Strickland to the ceremony.

In response to a question by Mr. Sipe, Mr. Berry stated that the dedication was a means of publicity that the School was placed on the National Register.

Jim Leathley reported that he had contacted Mr. Weidner and Mr. McGregor. Stimulus funds are still available, and have been applied for. Information was supplied for funds for historical preservation.

Cyndie Gerken reported that the Ohio National Road Organization had been successful in obtaining an 80/20 federal highway grant from National Scenic Byways Funds.

Jane Manemann made a motion to adjourn. The motion was seconded by Cyndie Gerken. Mr. Berry adjourned the meeting at 8:39PM

Respectfully Submitted, Ken Strickland, Secretary